Goodbye, Mr. Potter.

‎”Harry Potter is about confronting fears, finding inner strength and doing what is right in the face of adversity. Twilight is about how important it is to have a boyfriend.” – Stephen King

“We are part of you,” said Sirius, “Invisible to anyone else.”

Of course it is happening inside your head, Harry, but why on earth should that mean that it is not real?  ~J.K. Rowling, “King’s Cross,” Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, 2007, spoken by the character Albus Dumbledore

I just saw the last part of the Harry Potter seriesDeathly Hallows 2 and let me just say this. IT.WAS.BLOODY.BRILLIANT.

I was teary-eyed for like 60% of the movie. Everything kept flashing through my mind, as if all those scenes from the last 7 Potter movies have always been there… From The Sorcerer’s Stone to The Deathly Hallows 1, it was like an endless slideshow of pictures.

 

Piece of advice for those fanatics who couldn’t get over themselves and kept on saying something like “THE BOOK IS BETTER THAN THE MOVIE…” — GROW.THE.FuCK.UP. The book WILL ALWAYS be better than the movie. That’s how it rolls. *rolls eyes* I used to be like that, but I GREW UP. I’m thinking more maturely now. I’m not like “Oh, where is that scene and that scene..? That’s not the character who said that line! That scene should happen before that other scene! She’s not supposed to be wearing those kind of clothes!!!”

It’s a good thing that I didn’t re-read the book before watching the movie. Otherwise I would have turned into one of those ‘ALWAYS disappointed’ fans too.

I just like the fact that the movie went straight into action. No more stupid and pointless abracadabras. It showed the sense of urgency in the movie. No matter how much they still wanted to take a rest and grieve over the deaths of their special friends, like Dobby T.T, they couldn’t. They needed to keep going… they must keep fighting. There was no time to mull things over or to regret what has and has not been done. Or what could have been done. 😦

The trio’s trip to Gringotts Bank — that was breathtaking and gripping at the same time. I almost forgot about that ‘dragon part.’ All those multiplying goblets — that was pretty cool. 😀

I must say Dan and Rupert taking their tops off and changing their clothes in front of Emma was just… exciting. Haha. There were a few perverted reactions from the crowd during that scene. Haha. NO, I wasn’t one of those. 

Once again, Emma Watson was just bloody amazing. She’s pretty, smart and talented. I’m so gonna miss seeing her as the brilliant Hermione Granger.

 

ANYWAY. I just have to say the movie emphasized the sinister and dramatic side of the story. It’s like everywhere they go there’s a threat– there’s an uneasy feeling that someone’s always following you — ready to hit you with an Avada Kedavra or some unforgivable curse. It was creepy and terrifying and horrifying altogether.

The beauty of it all was the fact that you can see it as a standalone movie. It revealed so many things from the past and unveiled secrets which connects and explains pretty much everything. So people who didn’t get to read the book (losers XD) can still enjoy it without bombarding the person sitting next to them to death with the 4 W questions.

With every moment of triumph, I still felt disturbed because I KNEW it was not yet over. I knew something huge was bound to happen. Mcgonagall’s stand against Snape and those filthy death eaters was pretty awesome. From then on, my eyes were just filled with tears as they all stood up with each other and fought side by side, not just for their lives, not just for their friends and families, but for the magical community that had always been there to protect them. They fought for those who sacrificed themselves in order to create the magnificent and fantastic world that they were all living in. Everyone has matured and forgot about their differences. Even the annoyingly pig-headed Draco Malfoy learned his lesson and chose to be a coward as his own way of showing his “gratefulness” towards Harry and his friends. He was still a jerk at the end though… but still, just seeing him waver for a second when Lord Voldy was calling him forth earned him some ‘pogi points’ for me. 😀

The movie was fast-paced, even the flashbacks and the wordy conversations in an attempt to explain certain stuff were made in a way that made people focus and not yawn or munch on their popcorn. There was never a dull or ho-hum moment for me. I particularly liked the Pensieve part, when Harry literally looked into Snape’s memories inside the Pensieve. I didn’t expect them to include that bit. Young Lily and Snape were so adorable. It was too heartbreaking to actually witness how the story unfolds, compared to just reading it from the book before and imagining it. I could totally feel Snape’s frustration, anger and agony when Lily and James got together. What’s even more shattering was the fact that he STILL loved her even after all those years… even after everything that happened.

The epic battle between Voldemort’s forces and the “good side of the magical world” was just LEGENDAAAAARRRRYYYY. It was like Narnia + Lord Of The Rings. I especially liked Neville’s I STAND ALONE/ ME AGAINST THE UGLY LOSER DEATH EATERS moment there. It cracked me up so much. That’s another thing that made me feel satisfied about the movie. There was a perfect balance between the funny part, the romance part, the drama part, the action part and the suspense part, BUT it was doused with sufficient amount of magic, thrill and excitement.  REALLY, some people were saying something about it being “UNfabulous” or lacking in some areas… but I honestly can’t think of ANYTHING ELSE that can make it SO MUCH BETTER than it already was. I can’t say something like “It could’ve been better” because I THINK it IS better. Not just GOOD ENOUGH, it was so much more than that.

Moving on from the haters… *evil grin*

The majestic Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry turned into a humongous piece of rubble by the end of the movie. Bodies were disposed and scattered here and there—both the good ones and the bad ones. Everyone was injured not just physically, but mentally and emotionally as well. I almost forgot that Fred, Tonks and Lupin died… so I was just devastated seeing them lifeless among others in the Great Hall. TT__TT

I got goosebumps when I saw them lying there, lifeless. I came to realize something as well – Moony, Padfoot and Prongs are now all in HEAVEN… or wherever dead wizards go. But then again… I might be contradicting myself here but whatever… I think it’s brilliant that JKR killed off some important characters in the end. I honestly believe that there’s no happy ending in this world. YES, even in fiction. -.-

Probably the only thing that disappointed me a bit was… no more young, yummy, gorgeous Gellert Grindelwald in this film. Is Bonnie Wright hiding her fiancé from public now? Hehehe…

Let me just say… the scene 19 years later was just adorable. Albus Severus is one fine little man. I bet he’ll grow up to be just like Matthew Lewis. Errmm, I mean, his dad—Harry Potter. Hehehe.

I have to say the 19-years-later Dan REALLY looked like someone… 19-years-later-ish… Hahaha. XD

Harry Potter was such a huge part of my teenage life that it feels weird not to look forward to another movie again next year. Or Googling some news about the latest Harry Potter movie. Or waiting desperately for the trailers to be out. Or checking out the newest additions to the characters – like who’s gonna play who. It’s like a huge chunk of the innocent child in me –the one that BELIEVES in magic – will be gone with it. I never really realized that until I saw the ending credits roll. I will never see any of THAT again. Ever. Unless I re-watch the movie of course.

I feel sad and happy that it’s over. It’s sort of a bittersweet moment. Like what they say, all things MUST come to an end. But I guess every ending is just the beginning…. right? I do hope I still get to see all these wonderful actors in other projects and movies. And to quote my favorite character, Sirius Black…

58a2a27e07fde0c48c3daff7f893a1a2

It is goodbye, for now, Mr. Potter. But you and the rest of the gang will stay in my heart FOREVER. 

 

MISCHIEF… MANAGED!

3 comments

  1. Jeyna Grace · July 30, 2011

    The quote by stephen king is epic. LOL. Nice write up btw!

    • rkocenaholic23 · August 1, 2011

      awww.. thanks. 🙂 I appreciate it ^___^ yeah, I love Stephen King.

  2. Connie Crogan · August 3, 2011

    Great review! You actually touched some valuable news on your blog. I came across it by using Yahoo and I’ve got to admit that I already subscribed to the RSS, will be following you on my iphone 🙂 btw Plase check my free ipad 2 blog, hope you will find interesting information about free ipad 2 there!

Leave a Reply

