Closet Insomniac, anyone?

“Life is something that happens when you can’t get to sleep.” ~Fran Lebowitz

Up until now, I still don’t know if I’m insomniac or if it’s my so-called body clock that affects my sleep rhythm. Yes, I’m in denial. -.- Back in high school, I was a sleepyhead. I would instantly doze off the moment my back touches the mattress. After a few changes in my personal life and environment, I became a sort of insomniac in College. I still don’t want to admit it at first. I didn’t consult a doctor about it. I wanted to keep it to myself. Eventually, though, my dad kept on walking in on me as I browse the web in the wee hours of the night. I was banned from doing that after they noticed how skinny I got and how dark my eye circles were. I looked like a freakin’ panda. >_<

Image

  source: motleynews.net

Believe me, I’ve tried every possible solution out there. I read books, drank gallons of milk (okay just a huge glass… ^^), listened to sad music, counted sheep, deer, dog barks and even clouds… Nothing seemed to work for me. I noticed though, that if I’m extremely exhausted all throughout the day, I can nod off to sleep even though I’m not yet in bed.

So I consulted my personal ‘adviser’ – Mr. Google. ^.^ I found some really helpful sites wherein sleep cortisol explained in detail made me think about what’s wrong with me. I realized that this anti-sleep hormone is the root cause of my sleeplessness. The increase in cortisol level makes me restless and awake at night. Damn you cortisol. >_< One of my friends actually have the same dilemma as me. She tried melatonin as sleep aid and it worked for her. She told me a bit about it coz she knew how I hated taking meds. She said it’s harmless and it is actually approved by the FDA. Think of it as a lullaby that could slowly put you to a nice, long sleep It’s a sort of supplement, also known as a sleep inducer. I don’t think I need to try it as of now though. See, I can’t sleep that easily BUT if I do sleep – I REALLY SLEEP. As in I sleep for 12-14 hours straight. My roommate even got worried one time coz she thought I was dead or something. LOL. XD Maybe my hormones are still imbalance at my age so I just need to get used to my schedule and find some way to get some sleep at night. ^^

We all know that a certain myth that says you need to sleep at least 8 hours a day to stay ‘healthy’. That’s not entirely true. Recently, I read somewhere that those who sleep at least 5 hours a day are more active during the day than those who get 8 hours of sleep and more. I belong to those who get three hours sleep per day. I have a broken shift at work. I start work at 5 am and ends at 11 am. I take a ‘power nap’ from 2 pm until 4 pm and get ready for work again. I go home from my night shift at around 11 pm. I watch some movies and dramas on my laptop first to make myself sleepy until 1 o 2 am. Then I wake up at 4 am and the cycle starts all over again. That’s it. So I guess I’m an closet insomniac coz I kinda blame this on my work schedule, body clock, hormones, etc. I know being an insomniac is not like a disgusting disease… I just… I want to think I’m living a healthy lifestyle. Hehe. So, yeah,  I guess gotta blame it on that cortisol. ^^

Sleep is a symptom of caffeine deprivation. ~Author Unknown

Leave a Reply

