Kids say the darnest things

I’ve always wondered how kids view the world. Perhaps this is due to the fact that I was not really a curious kid to begin with. I just see things as they are. Or rather, as my parents and my grandmother wanted me to see them. I’m the only girl in the family and I grew up without any thoughts of malice so I’m like one of the boys. We took showers, played basketball, used the same bedroom together for how many years. I never asked my mom anything like why do men have nipples or some other ridiculous questions that kids ask.

The other day I was playing with my house mate’s 5-year-old kid. It was raining outside and we were on the balcony. Since he still cannot talk I was kinda wondering what might be running through that cute little brain of his. I thought he was probably thinking about the formation of rain – how come the sky is crying or something absurdly innocent like that. Kids tend to think purely about stuff. I can attest to that because I have two younger brothers. When they were still toddlers, they wouldn’t care if I walk around the room in my underwear. But when the hormones hit them, they’d scowl and yell at me if I so much as walk around wearing just a towel around my body. It’s annoying but amusing at the same time.

I think I was mostly interested about animals when I was younger. For instance, I would always ask my granny why certain animals sound differently. I would nag her with questions like the reasons a cat purr and a dog bark. I can remember pestering her with questions about my brother’s pet cat – like how come they have blue and green eyes that glows in the dark. I even asked my dad once why Hello Kitty can walk like a human while other cats have to walk on all fours. I just thought it was unfair. Haha.

Sometimes, when my life gets too messed up, I always think back to those days when I was still a child. I just thought it was still fun and much easier to think about such petty and nonsensical things in this world. Innocence is such a bliss.

“Children are like wet cement. Whatever falls on them makes an impression.” ~  Dr. Haim Ginott

One comment

  1. Golden Varela · April 26, 2012

    Very nice post. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I’ve really loved surfing around your blog posts. After all I will be subscribing on your feed and I am hoping you write again very soon!

Leave a Reply

