The Mortal Instruments 3: City of Glass

YES! I’m finally done! This was probably the most enjoyable one, compared to the other two. Mainly coz of all the Magnus-Alec thingy… ^^ And of course I like the fact that every character grows (matures?) with every book. The fact that there is a terrible war just round the corner made it even more compelling. It was definitely a page-turner. In fact, there was never a boring time. Well, okay, except during those repetitive, annoyingly predictable and ho-hum-ish Clary-Jace-Romeo&Juliet-moments… I stopped getting amused or even at least excited whenever they play their ‘poor-us-we-love-each-other-but-we’re-siblings’ or their ‘you-and-me-against-the-world’ card. I think I’ve seen enough Asian dramas with the same plot to last me a lifetime…

The suspense as to how, when, where and what’s gonna happen when Valentine resurfaces with his army of demons and how the plot was built around constant fear and alertness among Shadowhunters & Downworlders alike, was extremely riveting. Moreover, I like how everything was FINALLY explained here. Right from the start. It left no more queries or confusion in my mind. The minor love stories were weaved in between some major plot lines, just to give the readers a quick breath of fresh air or something… I guess. I mean, there was a point when all hope seemed to be lost and I was getting more and more frustrated. Magnus and Alec reeled me back to life and helped me carry on reading. ^^

The deaths in the story was… TOO heartbreaking for me to even think about them again. T_____T

The best part of the story was probably the bit about SEBASTIAN. I kinda suspected him at first… but I wasn’t entirely sure since I couldn’t figure out where he fits in the story. Although, halfway through book two, I was already kinda thinking that Jace & Clary might not REALLY be siblings after all. I mean, how could the story go on if they’re pining and whining after each other when it’s forbidden (and extremely incestuous, might I add XD)… so yeah, that part I kinda had it all figured out. And I’m so glad I did.

My fave part is a NO BRAINER. Of course it’s when Alec suddenly kissed Magnus in the middle of the Accords Hall – right in front of his family and ALL those Shadowhunters and Downworlders! I can so imagine that moment and I can’t wait to see that in the movie!!! 😀

^ source: fuckyeahmortalinstruments.tumblr.com

Simon and Luke are still my fave characters so far… my slight annoyance with Jace during the last book was gone by the time I finished this one. Glad he came back to his senses and eventually pulled through. ^^ And can I just say, I wanna go to IDRIS!!! ^^

But now that Valentine’s gone… and everything seems to be fine and dandy between Shadowhunters and Downworlders alike… what’s next? I’m kinda thinking Sebastian might still be alive and he’ll continue his father’s evil plans, with ten times EVIL in it… Or there might be another war between Shadowhunters and Downworlders because of… something. XD

I need to get my hands on the FOURTH BOOK now. ^^

Leave a Reply

